(last update: June 12, 2001)


This year's conference was organized by Gordana Matic with help from the scientific organizing committee consisting of: Mladen Bestvina, Simon Donaldson, Yasha Eliashberg, Steve Ferry, Dave Gabai, Helmut Hofer, Rob Kirby, and Cliff Taubes. The conference was funded by grants from the University of Georgia and the National Science Foundation .

2001 Georgia International Topology Conference
Schedule of Talks

WEEK 1  - May 21 - May 25, 2001

MONDAY, May 21, 2001
9:30 – 10:30
Speaker:  David Gabai, Caltech
dgabai@sue.its.caltech.edu
Title:  “Smale Conjecture For The Hyperbolic 3 – Manifolds”

11:00 – 12:00
Speaker: Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University
eliash@math.Stanford.EDU
Title: “Geometry of contact  domains and diffeomorphisms”

2:00 – 3:00
Speaker: Grigory Mikhalkin, University of Utah
mikha@math.utah.edu
Title: “Topology of algebraic hypersurfaces”

3:30 – 4:30
Speaker:  Peter Ozsvath, Princeton University
petero@Math.Princeton.EDU
Title:  “Holomorphic Disks and Invariants for 3 and 4 manifolds”

TUESDAY,  May 22, 2001
9:30 – 10:30
Speaker: Valentin Poenaru, University of Paris, XI
valpoe@hotmail.com
Title:  “Universal Covering Spaces Of Closed 3-Manifolds are Simply Connected at $\infty$”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker: Andrzej Zuk, CNRS, ENS Lyon
Andrzej.ZUK@umpa.ens-lyon.fr
Title: “$L^2$ - Betti numbers of closed manifolds”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Bill Meeks, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
bill@gang.umass.edu
Title: “Topological and geometric questions in classical minimal surface theory”

3:30 - 4:30
Speaker: Shmuel Weinberger, University of Chicago
shmuel@math.uchicago.edu
Title:  “Some problems suggested by Mostow rigidity”

WEDNESDAY, May 23, 2001
9:30 - 10:30
Speaker: Mladen Bestvina, University of Utah
bestvina@math.utah.edu
Title: “Proper actions of lattices on contractible manifolds”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker: Michael Hutchings, Stanford University
hutching@math.Stanford.edu
Title: “Periodic Floer Homology”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Fredric Ancel, university of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
ancel@uwm.edu
Title:  “On the Cell-like Equivalence of Croke-Kleiner Group Boundaries”

3:30 - 4:30
Speaker: Nathan Dunfield, Harvard University
nathand@math.harvard.edu
Title: “The Virtual Haken Conjecture:  Experiments and Examples”

8:00 p.m., Room 328, Boyd Graduate Studies (Math Building)
Talk for Graduate Students:
Speaker:  Danny Calegari, Harvard University
Title of talk:  “2-dimensional objects in 3-dimensional manifolds”

THURSDAY, May 24, 2001
9:30 - 10:30
Speaker:  Emmanuel Giroux, Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon
Giroux@umpa.ens-lyon.fr
Title: “Links and contact structures”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker:  Tobias Colding, NYU
colding@cims.nyu.edu
Title: “On the topology of 3-manifolds with positive scalar curvature”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Danny Calegari, Harvard University
dannyc@math.harvard.edu
Title: “Promoting essential laminations”

3:15 - 4:00
Speaker:  Tao Li, University of Texas, Austin
taoli@linux106.ma.utexas.edu
Title:  “Essential laminations and Laminar branched surfaces”
 

4:15 - ?
Problem Session – Dave Gabai and Dennis Sullivan
 

FRIDAY, May 25, 2001
9:30 - 10:30
Speaker: Dennis Sullivan, CUNY
KDuHart@gc.cuny.edu
Title:  "Membrane Topology"

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker: Stefan Bauer, Bielefeld University, Germany
bauer@Mathematik.Uni-Bielefeld.DE
Title:  “Stable Homotopy and Seiberg-Witten Theory”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Kim Froyshov, Harvard University
froyshov@cauchy.math.harvard.edu
Title:  “A homology cobordism invariant derived from Seiberg-Witten Floer theory”

3:15 - 4:00
Speaker:  Vincent Colin, Nantes, France
Vincent.Colin@math.univ-nantes.fr
Title: “Tight Contact Structures on toridal Manifolds”

4:15 - 5:00
Speaker:  Nikolai Ivanov, Michigan State University
ivanov@math.msu.edu
Title:  “Mapping class groups vs. arithmetic and linear groups”

8:00 p.m.
Graduate Student talk
Speaker:  Stefan Bauer, Bielefeld University, Germany
Title: “Introduction to Seiberg-Witten Theory”

SATURDAY, May 26, 2001

10:00 a.m., Room 304
Problem Session
Title: "Contact Topology"

WEEK 2  - May 28 - June 1, 2001

MONDAY, May 28, 2001
9:30 - 10:30
Speaker: Karen Vogtmann, Cornell University
vogtmann@polygon.math.cornell.edu
Title: “Images of automorphism groups of free groups”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker: Dylan Thurston, Harvard University
dpt@math.harvard.edu
Title: “The Casson Invariant from configuration spaces”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker: Chris Herald, University of Nevada
herald@unr.edu
Title: “An integer valued SU(#) Casson invariant for homology 3-spheres”

3:15 - 4:15
Speaker:  Justin Roberts, University of California, San Diego
justin@math.ucsd.edu
Title: “Rozansky-Witten theory”

4:30 – 5:15
Speaker:  Saul Schleimer, University of California, Berkeley
saulsch@math.berkeley.edu
Title:  Strongly irreducible surface automorphisms”

8:00 p.m.
Graduate Student talk
Speaker:  Michael Hutchings, Stanford University
Title: “Basic ideas of Morse-Floer theory”
 

TUESDAY, May 29, 2001
9:30 - 10:30
Speaker: John Etnyre, Stanford University
etnyre@math.Stanford.EDU
Title: "Knots and Contact Geometry"

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker:  Denis Auroux, Ecole Polytechnique and MIT
auroux@math.polytechnique.fr
Title:  “Projective maps and symplectic invariants”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker: Steve Ferry, Rutgers University
sferry@math.rutgers.edu
Title:  “Pushing Manifolds Together in Gromov-Hausdorff Space”

3:15 - 4:15
Speaker: Stavros Garoufalidis, Georgia Tech
stavros@math.gatech.edu
Title: “A rational noncommutative invariant of boundary links”

4:30 – 5:30
Speaker:  Tim Cochran, Rice University
cochran@math.rice.edu
Title:  “Noncommutative Knot Theory”
 
 

WEDNESDAY, May 30, 2001

9:30 – 10:30
Speaker: Cliff Taubes, Harvard University
chtaubes@math.harvard.edu
Title: "How many punctured spheres are in R x S^1 x S^2?"

11:00 – 12:00
Speaker: Stephen Bigelow, University of Melbourne, Australia
bigelow@ms.unimelb.edu.au
Title: “Homological representations of braid groups”

2:00 – 3:00
Speaker:  Ko Honda, University of Georgia
honda@math.uga.edu
Title:  “Tight contact structures and 3 – dimensional topology”

3:15 – 4:15
Speaker:  Klaus Mohnke, Stanford University
mohnke@math.Stanford.edu
Title: “The Nonexistence of a Lagrangian Klein bottle in $\Bbb C^2$”

4:30 – 5:15
Speaker:  Adam Sikora, CRM/ISM, Montreal
sikora@CRM.UMontreal.CA
Title: “Analogies between 3-dimensional topology and number theory”

8:00 p.m. – Room 302, Boyd Graduate Studies
Problem Session
Title: “Foliations and laminations”
 

THURSDAY, May 31, 2001

9:30 - 10:30
Speaker:  Eleny Ionel, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
ionel@math.wisc.edu
Title:  “Gromov-Witten Invariants and Symplectic Sums”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker: Lenny Ng, MIT
lenny@math.mit.edu
Title: “Invariants of Legendrian knots and links”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Paul Feehan, Rutgers University and Trinity College
feehan@maths.tcd.ie
Title: “SO (3) monopoles and relations between 4-manifold invariants”

3:15 - 4:15
Speaker:  Benson Farb, University of Chicago
farb@math.uchicago.edu
Title: “Volume, degree and entropy”

4:30 – 5:15
Speaker:  Margaret Symington, Georgia Tech
msyming@math.uiuc.edu
Title: “Lagrangian fibrations with Lefschetz and circle fibers”

7:00 p.m., Room 328, Boyd Graduate Studies
Graduate Student talk
Speaker:  John Etnyre
Title: “Introduction to Contact Topology”

8:30 p.m.  Room 328, Boyd Graduate Studies
Problem Session
Title: “Legendrian knots …”

FRIDAY, June 1, 2001

9:30 - 10:30
Speaker:   Helmut Hofer, NYU
hofer@cims.nyu.edu
Title: “Holomorphic curves in contact geometry”

11:00 - 12:00
Speaker:  Rob Kirby, University of California, Berkeley
kirby@math.berkeley.edu
Title: “Can we compute $\tau 4$  in *polynomial time”

2:00 - 3:00
Speaker:  Jason Cantarella, University of Georgia
cantarel@math.uga.edu
Title:  “On the minimum ropelength of knots and links”

3:15 – 4:00
Speaker: Shelly Harvey, Rice University
shelly@math.rice.edu
Title: “Higher Order Polynomial Invariants of 3-manifolds Giving Lower Bounds for the Thurston Norm”

4:15-5:00
Speaker:  Scott Carter, University of South Alabama
carter@mathstat.usouthal.edu
Title: “Quandle (Co)homology and State Sum Invariants of knots and knotted surface”



Participants
Casim Abbas, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Jim Anderson, University of Southhampton,  Sergei Anisov, IHES,  Dennis Auroux, Ecole Polytechnique and MIT, Kenneth Baker, University of Texas, Austin, Stefan Bauer, Bielefeld University, Germany,  Mladen Bestvina, University of Utah, Stephen John Bigelow, University of Melbourne, Australia, Francis Bonahon, University of Southern California, Mark Brittenham, University of Nebraska, Nick Bronn, Georgia Tech,  Danny Calegari, Harvard University, James Cantrell, University of Georgia,  Jason Cantarella, University of Georgia, Scott Carter,  University of South Alabama,  Tim Cochran,  Rice University, Tanya Cofer, University of Georgia, Tobais Colding, NYU, Vincent Colin, Nantes, France, Baris Coskunuzer, Caltech, Cindy Curtis, The College of New Jersey, Charles Delman, Eastern Illinois University, Elizabeth Denne,  University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Dragonmir Dragnev,  Courant Institute, New York University, David Dumas,  Harvard University, Nathan Dunfield, Harvard University, Rosa Durao, Harvard University, Robert Edwards, University of California, Los Angeles, Eaman Eftekhary,  The Graduate College, Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, John Etnyre, Stanford University, Richards Evans, Rice University, Benson Farb, University of Chicago, Paul Feehan, RutgersUniversity  and Trinity College Dublin, Steven Ferry, Rutgers University, Stefan Forcey, Virginia Tech, Kim Froyshov,  Harvard University, Joe Fu,  University of Georgia, David Gabai, Caltech, David Galewski, University of Georgia, Rob Ghrist,  Georgia Tech, Emmanuel Giroux,  Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon & CNRS, Noah Goodman, University of Texas at Austin, Craig Guilbault,  University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Carol Gwosdz, Rice University, Tracy Hall, University of California, Berkeley,  Shelly Harvey,  Rice University, Aaron Heap,  Rice University,  Christopher Herald,  University of Nevada, Mikami Hirasawa, Gakushuin University, Helmut Hofer, NYU, John Hollingsworth,  University of Georgia, Ko Honda, University of Georgia,  Michael Hutchings,  Stanford University,  Eleny Ionel,  University of Wisconsin, Madison, Marianty Ionel,  Duke University,  Nikolai Ivanov,  Michigan State University,  Dubravko Ivansic,  The George Washington University, Elham Izadi, University of Georgia,Will Kazez,  University of Georgia,  Jonathan Keiter, University of Connecticut,  Henry King, University of Maryland, Rob Kirby,  University of California, Berkeley,  Liz Klodginski,University of Michigan,  Rafal Komendarczyk, Georgia Tech,  Maracin Kulczycki, Auburn University, Krystyna Kuperberg,  Auburn University,  Rob Kusner,  University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Constance Leidy,  Rice University,  Tao Li,  University of Texas, Austin,  b  University of Texas, Tatiana Marinenko,  Rice University, Thomas Mark,  University of California, Berkeley,  Samuel Masih, Albany State University, Gordana Matic,  University of Georgia,  Clint McCrory, University of Georgia,  William Meeks,  University of Massachusetts, Amherst,  Grigory Mikhalkin, University of Utah, Peter Milley, Caltech, Klaus Mohnke, Stanford University, Chad Mullikin,  Georgia Tech,  Robert Myers,  Oklahoma State University, Ramin Naimi, Occidental College, Ollie Nanyes,  Bradley University,  Lenny Ng,  MIT, Liviu Nicolaescu,  University of Notre Dame, Kent Orr,  Indiana University, Bloomington, Ching-Hsing Ouyang,  California State University, Hayward, Peter Ozsvath,  Princeton University, Olga Plamenevskaya,  Harvard University,  Valentin Poenaru,  University of Paris, XI,  Jacob Rasmussen,  Harvard University, Mark Rinker,  University of California, Berkeley,  Justin Roberts,  University of California, San Diego, Maria Robinson, University of Arizona, Nikolai Saveliev, Tulane University, Saul Schleimer, University of California, Berkeley, Alexandru Scorpan, University of California, Berkeley,  Sandra Shields,  College of Charleston,  Jacob Siehler, Virginia Tech, Adam Sikora,  CRM/ISM, Montreal, Jim Solazzo,  University of Georgia, Yasar Sozen, University of Georgia, John Stallings,  University of California, Berkeley, Peter Storm,  University of Michigan,  John Sullivan,  University of Illinois,Urbana-Champaign, Michael Sullivan,  University of Michigan,  Dennis Sullivan,  CUNY, Margaret Symington,  Georgia Tech, Cliff Taubes, Harvard University, Yuka Taylor, Rutgers University, Dylan Thurston, Harvard University,  Matthew Timm, Bradley University, Robert Varley, University of Georgia, Karen Vogtmann, Cornell University, Samuel Weinberger,  University of Chicago, Wojciech Wieczorek,  University of Wisconsin, Madison, Dariusz Wilczynski, Utah State University, Andrzej Zuk, CNRS, ENS Lyon

For more information or to add people to our mailing list, please contact Julie McEver, Department of Mathematics, University of Georgia, Athens, GA  30602 (e-mail: julie@math.uga.edu) or by phone (706) 542-2038.